top of page
  • Writer's pictureNaima Bagot

Impact of the Growth Mindset




The videos introducing this week’s topic really seemed to resonate with me. For starters,

the concept of self-reflect as a vessel towards implementing a growth mindset into those whom you teach, whether adults or children, just seems to make sense. Personally, I can confess that at times it seems difficult to shift from a fixed to a growth mindset, when the way I’ve done something seems to be working okay, but what happens is a lack of growth or progress overall. Unfortunately, this sends the wrong message to those around me, and instead gives the perception that I may be a person who is incapable of reflecting upon where they fall short on various scenarios. So naturally, to be a great teacher, I also have to be an avid learner who has a capacity to learn and grow.


This brings me to what fascinates me about UDL and personalized learning. When you look at the different brain networks and what happens to information inside a learner’s head, it makes you wonder how the majority of students learn anything with the educational model today. If we consider that every learner comes into an educational environment with different skills, needs and interests to learning then it only seems to make sense that their path to obtain, understand and use information is done in a way that benefits that learner individually.


14 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page