top of page
  • Writer's pictureNaima Bagot

Perceptions of a Growth Mindset

Updated: Sep 16, 2021



The power of yet instills a mindset that embraces growth rather than one that is stuck in the now. By telling yourself and others, be it students or adults, that they are not there “yet,” rather than simply, “you failed,” teaches them to embrace that process. After all learning is essentially a process and no one said it would be one without its fair share of bumps and setbacks. My belief is that learning is fundamentally a process of trial and error that yields a level of success through the efforts, and progression made by an individual. Adopting a growth mindset reminds me of this process. Subsequently, having that mindset allows from me to give and receive feedback in a manner that shows how setups can be used to improve or change a process. This can be seen in education, in teaching students to focus on the process of learning rather than just the grade, or in a business capacity, teaching employees to welcome feedback and new ideas for improving processes.


Ideally, I’d love to say that my mindset is completely a growth mindset, however, realistically in some areas I find myself still having a fixed mindset. My goal is to start embracing challenge across the board in multiple aspects of my life, without the belief that I am unable to do something. Most of that belief comes from a fear of failing at something and thus keeps me from trying at times, but I am working more and more against this. Instead, I opt into things that are both new and uncomfortable, finding myself enjoying the process along the way to achievement. For example, this program is something outside of my comfort zone. I've spent the past 6 years in an education capacity and am familiar with teaching learners, however the dynamic of utilizing technology in a way that enhances the learning is still something that I feel novice at. Wanting to move into an instructional design capacity tells me that I need to become well versed in this arena, and so the learning process continues. Of course, the fixed part of me is nervous about the challenge, but the mostly growth mindset of myself is relishing at the idea of mastering something new!


Reference:

Revach, A. (2021, January 24). Fixed vs growth mindset; beliefs that shape your life. Medium. https://uxplanet.org/fixed-vs-growth-mindset-beliefs-that-shape-your-life-93a1b5f9b26a.

10 views0 comments

Comentarios

No se pudieron cargar los comentarios
Parece que hubo un problema técnico. Intenta volver a conectarte o actualiza la página.
bottom of page