top of page
  • Writer's pictureNaima Bagot

Helpfulness & A Growth Mindset


FIRST let me say that I love a good Ted Talk! Margaret Heffernan’s talk really hits the concept of helpfulness and making connections out of the park. Her notion of the “Super Chicken Model,” is really a fascinating way of examining organizational productivity, social connectedness, and capital. She explains that this way of trying to pit people against each other, rather than build off of the aid in assistance of one another, yields less results. This resonates on so many levels for me as I become more acclimated with my new role as a Learning Support Coordinator. I am at a small school, so my department consists of just myself, making collaboration even more important. Daily I consult with different administrators, department heads and teachers across campus to build out policies and best practices for this department. Not only does it allow me to connect with my colleagues, but it opens up and expands ideas that otherwise would be limited. Building connections is also something that I stress to the students that I work with. Many suffer from issues with social skills and find building relationships uncomfortable, so I start with showing them how they can be beneficial (i.e study buddies or seeking out teacher assistance). Margaret’s points really spell out the need for this across all disciplines and environments.


Additionally, the videos on Growth Mindset seem to be just as impactful the second time I watched them as the first. The primary difference is that I have had time to really put the concept of a Growth Mindset into practice for both myself, and the students and teachers I work with. Embodying the mindset myself, helps me to translate that over to those who have a hard time understanding its significance or value. Whether that be a student, parent, teacher or even administrator, struggling to see the limitations that a fixed mindset can have on a situation.

At both my current and previous school, the concept of a Growth Mindset is known but not necessarily implemented across the campus. For most, it is not due to a want or a desire to change mindsets, but rather just something that requires continuous work to undue old habits. As I watch my own mindset improve in areas where it was once extremely fixed, I feel confident and comfortable reminding people of the “power of yet,” that Carol Dweck points towards. This simple, but powerful phrase not only builds confidence, it ignites motivation in individuals, taking the focus off of the immediate, and shifting the mindset to look towards what is to come!




21 views0 comments

Kommentare

Kommentare konnten nicht geladen werden
Es gab ein technisches Problem. Verbinde dich erneut oder aktualisiere die Seite.
bottom of page