top of page
  • Writer's pictureNaima Bagot

Contributions to My Learning and the Learning Community 2.0

ED5303 - 95/100 ED5313 - 95/100


 

As I wrap up my first full semester of the ADL program, I finish off two more courses, with each course building onto the next and showcasing just how active learning should be! Since I had already taken courses 5302 and 5305 I was able to use some of my time in 5303 and 5313 to revise and edit some of my previous work. It is interesting to see how much my perspective has changed in such a short amount of time. As a result, I found myself really living the process and actively engaging in my assignments, as well as in other forms of acquiring knowledge, both within and outside of the program. Much like my first two courses, I found that these two courses paired well together, as one was more content producing than the other, however both yielded themself to reflection and growth opportunities.

Much like my first two courses, I found that actively and intentionally engaging with my learning community to be of utmost importance. As most of us are on the same two course track, I was able to carry my group over from my previous courses and over the past 8 weeks we continue to support and collaborate with one another on nearly a daily basis. We utilized our same GroupMe conversation thread, where we exchanged ideas, had regular check-ins and discussed progress on current or upcoming assignments. We would collaborate on assignments, and provide feedback. Similar to the first courses, Angela, Herman, Rajalique, Rosa and I met weekly via zoom to offer a more “face-to-face” check-in, as well as used that time to discuss assignments, brainstorm ideas, and discuss any feedback given from the Professors. Each of my group members, Angela Upshaw, Herman Bibbs, Rosa Felsen, and Rajalique Mccowin work in different aspects of education, which really helped pull in different perspectives and evaluate different scenarios for implementing ePortfolios and blended learning into the classroom.

In ED5303, the ePortfolio course, the bulk of the course is dedicated to building out your own ePortfolio. In addition to building out and developing my ePortfolio 5303 allows for time to revisit and improve the assignments produced in course 5302, Concepts of Educational Technology, which lays the foundation of developing a Growth Mindset Plan to implement with our students, while also providing a space to reflect on our own learning journey with the creation of a Learning Manifesto .

In ED5313, we developed a deeper understanding of choice, ownership, voice and authentic learning, as it relates to creating significant learning environments (CSLE). It was within this course that I found myself most intrigued by the many nuisances that go into developing significant learning environments, starting with examining the new culture of learning. As I grew in my understanding of CSLE I was able to elaborate on that understanding through my learning philosophy, which outlines how my teaching philosophy and my learning philosophy align and coincide with my desire to create significant learning environments. Once the foundation was established, we created a 3 column table, which related to our Big Hairy Audacious Goal (BHAG) and looked at overall outcomes, learning assessments and activities. In addition to the 3 column table we drilled down even deeper to build out specific outcomes in the development of our own UbD template. Finally, the course allowed for a re-evaluation of our original created Growth Mindset, and as a result an updated version is now available.


Throughout both courses, the assigned weekly readings and the suggested articles and videos were a key component in understanding and engaging with the material. For 5303, there was not a required book, but I read each of the weekly readings. For 5313, I read the required chapters for Understanding by Design and A New Culture of Learning book. To ensure authentic engagement, I completed all assignments before the due dates, and participated in every discussion board post for both classes. I also attended all live Zoom sessions with Dr.Bedard and all but 2 live sessions (I watched the recordings) for Dr. Harapnuik.


As I look back on these past 8 weeks, I can honestly say that I gave each assignment and discussion my best effort, being open and receptive to feedback and was comfortable with making mistakes. I am excited to see what is ahead in the next set of classes!


74 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Opmerkingen


bottom of page