top of page
  • Writer's pictureNaima Bagot

Contribution to Learning + The Learning Community- The Finale

[5315] 95/100


[5320] 95/100

 

It’s hard to believe that the Applied Digital Learning program has come to a close! Each course I have taken throughout this program reaffirms my belief that I made the right decision in pursuing this path. Being exposed to different ways of learning as well as influencing and initially contributing to the learning of others is something that has added value to my current role. In addition, I find myself more attuned to what components are essential for me to have in the roles that I pursue in the future. As I wrap up the ADL program I am amazed at the amount of information that I have had the opportunity to cover, finding not only the reading material beneficial but the live class sessions and Q&A sessions held for these last two courses.


These two courses, like those before it, paired together well, as one allowed for more time to review and revamp prior program assignments, while the other exposed me to the importance of action research. My final course load consisted of an [5315] Assessment of Digital Learning and an [5320] ADL Capstone course.


From the very beginning, we learned how important it is to develop a collaborative group and continue to work with others on this journey, something that I experienced wholeheartedly.


Keeping with the trend and support levels of my previous courses, I continued to collaborate with the group members I have worked with since starting the program-Angela Upshaw, Rosa Felsen, and Herman Bibbs. With there being less reading in these sets of courses than in others, we did not meet virtually as often as in previous courses but continued to converse nearly daily. Much like the courses before, we relied on GroupMe, Zoom, and email for our collaborative efforts. Overall, the continued support proved to be something that was not only extremely valuable, but a tool I could not have done without through the program.

The EDLD5315 course- Assessment of Digital Learning, this course cultivated my passion for action-based research. While research can sometimes hold a negative connotation, action research is something that I had been doing (without realizing it) for years! The key to action research is what you do AFTER you’ve collected the data, analyzed it, and figured out what is and isn’t working. It’s not enough to simply recognize the problem, but instead, you have to create a plan that addresses the different layers needed to improve your process. From the initial outline to the literature review and the final implementation plan, the course concludes with all of those pieces coming together in a way that can be shared with the stage holders on my campus.

As the learning continued it culminated beautifully in the final course for the program- EDLD5320 Capstone Synthesis, a course that forces you to take a look at where you started and how far you’ve come. This course gave me a chance to truly reflect on the past several months of coursework. Through analysis, and meaningful connections to the literature, I have developed into not only a digital learner but a digital innovative leader. These past 11 months, I have identified and promoted innovation helped create and shape significant learning environments, and led organizational change. As I move forward, I have a new grasp on the what, why, and how of innovation for my organization and the tools needed for ongoing change.


As I look back on not just these past 8 weeks, but the past 11 months I can say that I gave each assignment and discussion my best effort, and took the feedback given to help not only improve my work but to help increase my knowledge of the material. As I’ve done before, I completed assignments before the due date and received feedback from my collaboration group before submitting them. I also attended the live Zooms when I was able to do so, and watched recordings for those that I couldn’t for both courses. Participating actively on calls was essential to understanding and engaging with the material and having an open dialogue with my instructors.


While the ADL program has come to a close, the new tools, strategies, and experiences I have received are something that will be carried with me for years to come. Learning, while messy, is exciting and I can not wait to see where it takes me next!

 



111 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page