top of page
  • Writer's pictureNaima Bagot

Contribution to Learning + The Learning Community SP22

[5318] 95/100


[5389] 95/100


Each course I take throughout this program , reaffirms my belief that I made the right decision pursuing this path. I’ve been exposed to different ways of learning and influencing learners that I did not even realize were missing in my role. Not to mention each course has a way of helping me improve in my daily functions, while also building up my skills for future endeavors. As I finish 2 more courses in the program, I am excited to be heading towards my final semester as an ADL student! Within these courses, I found that the reading material gave me an initial foundation that served as main sources of reference throughout each of the courses. These two courses, out of all the others I’ve had together, paired the best together with Instructional Design and Developing Effective Professional Learning really going hand in hand.


Keeping with the trend and support levels of my previous courses, I collaborated often with the group members I have worked with since starting the program. Almost daily, Angela Upshaw, Rosa Felsen, Herman Bibbs and Myself, converse to discuss readings and resources reviewed from each module, strategize about upcoming assignments, and provide feedback to various components related to the work being done with our respective innovation plans. Much like the courses before, we relied on GroupMe, Zoom, and Google Docs when sharing assignments for feedback. Overall, the continued support has proven to be something that really showcases the power of collaboration in a rigorous program.


For my ED5318 course, Instructional Design Online Learning, the course was filled with rigorous project based learning, and meaningful application. We began the course by deciding upon a course design, and developed an overview video, detailing the what and how of the course before moving on to the implementation phase. Within that phase, the video presented, showcases the overall components of who the course is offered for, and displays a few of the course modules. The course concludes with all of those pieces coming together in the usability and reflection piece, where stakeholders review the built out course and offer their feedback. Take a look at each of those components HERE.


As the learning continued in my ED5389 Developing Effective Professional Learning course, the course focused on designing professional learning connected to our innovation plan. For this course, so much of what was established in my instructional design course, allowed me to really hone in on what I wanted to see change in the Professional Learning (PL) process. Much like 5318, we began the course creating a call to action video that addressed the need for alternative forms of professional learning. My aim for that video was to highlight the difference between ‘sit & get’ versus the preferred option of ‘show & go’ when it comes to designing and implementing PL. From there we developed out the comprehensive outline of what the course would entail and the timeline for each component, while emphasizing the importance of the 5 principles of effective professional learning. The course concluded with building out a session of the course in its entirety to showcase how the information would be utilized in real time. Take a look at each of those components HERE.


As I look back on these past 8 weeks, I can say that I gave each assignment and discussion my best effort, and really took the feedback given to help not only improve my work, but to help increase my knowledge of the material. Throughout both courses, the assigned readings, videos and the suggested articles were key in understanding and engaging with the material. As I’ve done before, I completed assignments prior to the due date, and received feedback from my collaboration group before submitting. I also attended the live Zooms when I was able to do so, and watched recordings for those that I couldn’t for both courses. Participating actively on calls was essential to understanding and engaging with the material and having open dialogue with my instructors.


Spring session is officially over and now onto summer courses, leaving me in excited suspense on what the last set of classes will offer!




32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page