top of page
  • Writer's pictureNaima Bagot

Pushing Go on Podcasting


It’s no big surprise that the media is what drives the communication we see in our world today. Most significantly, it's the influence, and from what I now understand the different sources of influence that help leverage the content that we see put out there. This makes me think of the various media channels/platforms that I use, as well as the new platforms I am being exposed to throughout this course. Engagement was something that I noticed, but never really focused on before starting this program, and now it is the foundation for how I align and create content. As I shift my focus to podcasting for the 5317 publication course, I find myself wanting to really understand how to engage an audience, and to do so I have to really grasp the point of the content I plan to create. Jon Levy, a behavioral scientist and contributor with Forbes, explains in his article 7 Secrets To Producing Engaging Podcast Content, that there are key things to remember when developing engaging content, starting with the realization that “everyone is self-absorbed” (2017). This is not said as a way to criticize the masses, but rather a pointed way to help writers understand how to curate their content. Target an audience, figure out how to make those a part of that audience feel relevant and intrigued is what I took from that point.


Before starting the ADL program I’ve been a fan of podcasts, from all different genres and contributors, and even considered doing one myself, but never seemed to push GO on that venture. Call it fear, or just a lack of knowing where to start, but I am now more excited than ever to really dive into it! As Levy goes through the other 6 secrets, he drives home the importance of influence and decision making, and how that contributes to behavior. With a background in behavioral science Levy gives his audience a look into what makes people tick, and how that affects various aspects of one’s life.


Along with branching into the world of podcasting, I find that engagement such as through Zoom, music, interactive animation videos, and other media channels, gives us the opportunity to really diversify how we present (and receive) information. As a person, who finds themself constantly craving new knowledge and experiences, I welcome the opportunity to learn and incorporate different digital channels and platforms into my personal and professional life.


Sources:

Levy, J. (2017, December 18). 7 secrets to producing engaging podcast content. Forbes. Retrieved February 3, 2022, from https://www.forbes.com/sites/jonlevy/2017/12/18/7-secrets-to-produce-engaging-podcast-content/?sh=7a9f1df21b6f

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page