top of page

Communicating Your Ideas

Updated: Oct 6, 2021


For most of us, we enter into the field of teaching with wide eyes and big dreams, ready to inspire the youth of tomorrow! Along the way however, Educators become tied down by systems and standards, neglecting the side of innovation that our learners so desperately need. As I reflected on my innovation as an Educator, I realized how comfortable I have become with a system/ routine. While I believe that routine is necessary to a degree for students, I also believe that students need connections to real world experiences outside of the classroom. In order to do this Educators, have to be consistent and open up the lines of communication to benefit learners.


John Kotter’s video speaks to this point well as he discusses how ineffective under-communication can be. When experiencing a new idea, it has to be done on a constant basis to truly reach listeners, giving them time to buy-in. This is something that I find myself most comfortable with doing, consistent communication. I find that I learn best this way and have always tried to provide my students with multiple opportunities to grasp a new idea. However, going forward and as I tackle this new role I am entering as a Learning Support Coordinator I hope to provide students and teachers with innovative ideas to take ownership of their learning.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page